

PORT OF SPAIN
REPUBLIC OF TRINIDAD AND TOBAGO
Telephone: (868) 612-5CCJ Fax: (868) 624-4710

Website: www.ccj.org

MEDIA RELEASE (For immediate release)

No. 14:2024 22 March 2024

The Eugene Dupuch Law School Sweeps the 14th Annual CCJ International Law Moot

Port of Spain, Trinidad and Tobago. On Friday, 22nd March, the Eugene Dupuch Law School from The Bahamas was the winner of Overall Moot Challenge Shield at the XIV Annual Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) International Law Moot. This year represents the sixth win for the Bahamian law school, which also won the prizes for the best oralist and best written submission. The second-place prize was awarded to the Faculty of Law, The University of the West Indies, St Augustine who also copped the prize for the Best Academic Institution. The Norman Manley Law School edged out the Department of Law, University of Guyana to win the Social Media Spirit Prize.

A mere two weeks after the world celebrated International Women's Day, the impact of women was duly reflected in the all-female winners of this year's competition. The victorious team comprising Chastity Butler (winner of the Best Oralist Award), Tracy-Ann Martell, and Sashae Duncan, credited hard work, cooperation, and flexibility before the judges for their incredible win. Their achievement included receiving the first-ever prize for the Best Written Submission Award in tribute to the late Mr Justice Jacob Wit, who before his retirement from the CCJ, was a stalwart in this annual competition.

The Moot was established in 2009 to orient law students in the processes and procedures of the Court while helping them become more familiar with the Court's Original Jurisdiction (OJ). It focuses on the interpretation and application of the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas (RTC). In its OJ, the CCJ is an international court and is the only court that has the authority to interpret the Treaty when there are disagreements concerning freedom of movement, trade, services, and capital within CARICOM. Countries, businesses, and individuals can ask the Court to interpret the Treaty.

According to the Hon. Mr Justice Winston Anderson during the opening ceremony, "this Moot presents an invaluable opportunity to delve into the nuances of the Revised Treaty, understand the procedures for pursuing the rights it bestows, and familiarise yourselves with the Court that interprets and applies the Treaty. We hope this experience will ignite your passion for the advancement of Community law, inspiring you as practitioners and scholars to contribute significantly to the development of Caribbean jurisprudence."

Under the chairmanship of the Hon. Mr Justice Burgess, this year's Moot question was argued before a panel of three judges, comprising the Hon. Mme. Justice Rajnauth-Lee, the Hon. Mr Justice Denys Barrow, and the Hon. Mr Justice Peter Jamadar. The students participating in the Moot were given a fact pattern

Tel: (868) 612-5225 ext. 2260 Email: ccjcomm@ccj.org which presented issues on the breach of provisions in the RTC. The teams which were applying to the CCJ for special leave were to argue that there had been imposition of new restrictions on the CARICOM right of establishment under the RTC, that there had been a breach of the provisions governing the establishment and imposition of the common external tariff, and that there had been imposition of measurable restrictions contrary to the provisions of the RTC. The teams on the defence were to argue that there had been no breach on any of those points.

Members of the public can view the recordings of this year's competition and the award ceremony on the Caribbean Court of Justice's YouTube channel here.

-End-

About the Caribbean Court of Justice

The Caribbean Court of Justice (CCJ) was inaugurated in Port of Spain, Republic of Trinidad and Tobago on 16 April 2005 and presently has a Bench of six judges presided over by CCJ President, the Honourable Mr Justice Adrian Saunders. The CCJ has an Original and an Appellate Jurisdiction and is effectively, therefore, two courts in one. In its Original Jurisdiction, it is an international court with exclusive jurisdiction to interpret and apply the rules set out in the Revised Treaty of Chaguaramas (RTC) and to decide disputes arising under it. The RTC established the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) and the CARICOM Single Market and Economy (CSME). In its Original Jurisdiction, the CCJ is critical to the CSME and all 12 Member States which belong to the CSME (including their citizens, businesses, and governments) can access the Court's Original Jurisdiction to protect their rights under the RTC. In its Appellate Jurisdiction, the CCJ is the final court of appeal for criminal and civil matters for those countries in the Caribbean that alter their national Constitutions to enable the CCJ to perform that role. At present, four states access the Court in its Appellate Jurisdiction, these being Barbados, Belize, Dominica, Guyana, and Saint Lucia. However, by signing and ratifying the Agreement Establishing the Caribbean Court of Justice, Member States of the Community have demonstrated a commitment to making the CCJ their final court of appeal. The Court is the realisation of a vision of our ancestors, an expression of independence and a signal of the region's coming of age.

For more information please contact: Public Education & Protocol Unit

Tel: (868) 612-5225 ext. 2260

Email: pecu@ccj.org

Public Education and Protocol Unit Tel: (868) 612-5225 ext. 2260 Email: ccjcomm@ccj.org